That PistachiHoHoHo cookie

Hey there boo thang. Argh, my heart is full hey. Do you know what else is full? My tummy, my tummy is filled with delicious biscotti. I am eating biscotti all day and I feel like it should get its own classification as a food group. Yup, who needs vegetables? Not me. Ok, that’s a lie, I like my greens.

Ok, so before we start with this recipe, I need to get something off my chest. Biscotti are just rusks that went to an Italian private school. You are welcome to come at me but I will fist fight you, clear? Ok, let’s make these pistachio and cherry biscotti.

IMG_20181218_071014.jpg

All up in there

  • 1/4 cup light olive oil
  • 160g white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 250g all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup pistachio nuts

Mix it up

  • Preheat the oven at 150 degrees Celsius.
  • In a large bowl, beat together oil and sugar until well blended.
  • Add vanilla and almond extracts to olive oil, then beat in the eggs.
  • Combine flour, salt, and baking powder; gradually stir into the olive oil mixture. The texture will be tacky. Mix in cranberries and nuts by hand.
  • Divide dough in half and make two logs on a cookie sheet that has been lined with baking paper.
  • Wet hands with cool water to handle dough as it will be sticky.
  • Bake for 35 minutes or until logs are a light brown. Remove from oven, and set aside to cool for 10 minutes.
  • Reduce oven heat to 275 degrees F (135 degrees C).
  • Once logs are cool cut diagonally to desired thickness.
  • Lay on sides on baking sheet and further bake for approximately 8 to 10 minutes, or until dry.
  • Allow to cool completely and serve.

Eat that thang

Ok, so I got a lot of tough talk from some haters via my WhatsApp and Instagram telling me that its BISCOTTI and not a RUSK.

mockingspongebobbb.jpg

Yes, I know that technically they are different, but, are they really that different? Hmmm, maybe this is a lesson on all humanity. Deep down we are all just rusks. Jokes, but not really.

IMG_20181217_172417.jpg

Edward Cookiehands

Ok, so back to Italian rusks.

I really like this shit man. They are so simple and quick to make. They honestly were a fraction of the time and effort that I put into these rusks. Aside from ease they tasted amazing. I took a big ass bag and shared it among my colleagues who had no idea I baked (new company) and asked where I bought them from (hahaha silly hoe, I did make them).

Taste: exceptional.

Difficulty: low.

Cost: bitch pistachios ain’t cheap.

IMG_20181217_183128.jpg

So, making these I decided to give my electric mixer a break and do everything by hand. I wanted to feel rustic (wow, what a douche) and pretend I was on a cooking show somewhere in the bundus or like a bakers Survivor where our necessary tools are taken from us and we had to forage and find the whisk tree and bowl bush or else we get kicked out of Oven Island. It’s the little things that excite me. So, in short this isn’t a tool intensive recipe and is accessible to all.

Also, these shits look mad pretty. That green and red poppin’ and make for a dope ass Christmas cookie, I’m just saying guys…

IMG_20181217_183710.jpg

Side note:

  • don’t worry about the olive oil smell, it disappears when baking.
  • The mixture is going to be tacky and wet, don’t worry about it, just continue.
  • Wet hands before trying to shape into logs. Don’t be a hero.
  • I think I’ll add some orange zest to this next time just for the thrill of it
  • Allow these to cool completely, cutting while warm will cause the log to crumble.

Anywho, go forth and bake em and let a hoe know what you think.

IMG_20181218_071539.jpg

Goodbye my honey doodle.

One thought on “That PistachiHoHoHo cookie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.