Badi Baked Its 2018

Lemon Poppy Cake: A series of Meh, events.

h guys, summer is on her way out and my heart is slowly beginning to hurt. I though of having a week of observation to say goodbye, where I just frolicked through fields of wild flowers and swam in cool creeks. Unfortunately, I live in the city, so I have no fields nor creeks and if they are there I have a fear of finding a dead rat. So, yea, let’s just bake a cake to commemorate summer, right?

So yup, lets bake a freaking LEMON POPPY CAKE HOMIES!!!!

Guys, very few things say summer like a fragrant Lemon Poppy Cake. Sister 2 of 3 and my darling friend Melo have both received this for birthdays and loved it. So, allow joy into your life with this here cake (I had the joy snatched out of my soul, but we will chat about this later).

Anyway, honey bunnies, let’s make this here cake.

Badi Baked It Lemon Poppy Ingredients

Oh, baby I got the ingredients

  • ¼ cup/50g Poppy Seeds
  • 185ml warm mild
  • 1 cup/220g Castor Sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 5 lemon zest
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 cups/300g self-raising flour
  • 200g butter

Glaze

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 cups/300g icing sugar

Candied lemon

  • Rind of 1 lemon
  • ½ cup castor sugar
  • ½ cup water

Badi Baked It Lemon Poppy Ingredients

Ooh baby I got the potion

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C and soak poppy seeds in milk for 15 minutes.

Beat castor sugar and butter until pale and fluffy.

Add the milk, poppy seeds, eggs, lemon zest, lemon juice then flour and mix until well combined.

Bake for 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of comes out clean.

Badi Baked It Lemon Poppy Cake

Let cake cool completely before preparing the glaze (a warm cake will absorb the glaze)

Candy lemons by adding lemon rind, water and castor sugar in a pot to cook over a mediun heat for 15 minutes or until water evaporates and syrup begins to thicken. Drain the candied rinds and allow to cool and dry.Badi Baked It Candied Lemon

Prepare glaze by melting butter and mixing it along with lemon juice and icing sugar. Once mixed pour over cool cake, allow to set before garnishing with candied lemons.

Badi Baked It Candied Lemon

Did this cake get my back in motion?

Ok, so I made this cake for a family party thing at my aunties house. I felt the weight of the pressure as sister 2 of 3 told me to not fuck it up and I did everything in my power to deliver. Guys, I woke up good and early doing my morning mantras and praying to that oven, I did everything perfect guys. It was one of the most visually appealing efforts I had put in a Lemon Poppy cake as not to disappoint the villainous sister. I placed the cake in a travel container and ensured it arrived safe and sound, the pressure was on.

Ok, I get to my aunts’ house in Dainfern filled with family members, half of which I do not know so the cake gets whisked off to the kitchen while I get along with the greetings, as one does. Ok cool, cake is still safe, everyone is eating lunch before I can dig into MY plate I have to go take my cousin to hospital which too is totes cool (he’s fine btw).

Badi Baked It Lemon Poppy Cake

The last time i saw my baby intact

On my return I receive the devastating news that desert had been served and that my cake was nice…. Wait what? Served before I could take my picturesque photos by the pool? Served before I could capture joy in children’s eyes as they caught sight of the candied lemon rinds for the first time? Served before I could hear someone say “Wow, that’s so pretty my girl”???? Oh, it was “nice”? Who knows, because it was shoved inside a tiny bowl alongside some random malva pudding thing and Ice Cream.

Mxm, do you know what? I’m heated, my family doesn’t appreciate the endless gift that is me. I’m done with them.

Side note: it was actually good though. You can still trust me despite my family members shocking behavior.

Please see the photos that should have been below.

Badi Baked It Lemon Poppy

The Kids loving the cake

 

 

Badi Baked I Lemon Poppy

What a delicious Cake

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.