Another fancy tart

Bonjour, omelette du fermage and other French greetings. Today I bring you une Tarte Francez. Can you tell I studied French for a year and a half in varsity. Ok, my excellent French aside, today we make a French classis, une Tarte Tartin. What is a Tart Tartin? Basically a fancy upside down tart, don’t come at me frenchies… I love you dearly.

This week I really should have made another cake for my sister and cousins birthdays but I REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAALLY didn’t want to. I do what I want sooooo, yea, no cake.

Ok back to the baking, this thing was actually easier to make than I thought, I’m about to add this to my repertoire, I think this would be amazing for a dinner party and you want to show out with your culinary skills.

BTW, this is another ugly one with a good personality.

Ok, lets make this here thang….

Ingrédients

  • 5-7 baking pears
  • 100g sugar
  • 85g butter
  • 15g butter, melted
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon cloves
  • Puff Pastry

Méthode

Prepare puff pastry by rolling out to 3mm and cut to fit the pan you will be baking in. Make small holes using a fork over pasty and place in freezer.

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius

Prepare pares pears by peeling and coring. Reserve one half of a pear for the centre and quarter the remaining halves.

In an oven proof pan heat sugar over, medium heat until it begins to turn a dark amber colour.

Remove pan from heat and place pears in the pan starting from the outside working in with wide sides out.

Brush pears with melted butter and sprinkle with spices.

Place pastry over the pears and tuck the edges into the sides, egg wash and bake for 45-60 minutes or until the pastry is puffed and golden brown.

Once ready, place it to the side for an hour or until it reaches room temperature. Once cool, run a fork across the sides of the pan to loosen then place a plate over the pan and flip over to place into the plate.

Serve with crème fraiche or ice-cream.

 

Pensées (thoughts for us uneducated swine’s)

Ok, I reeeeeeeaaalllly don’t feel like posting how I made the pastry as I have done so many times before and I am feeling lazy in this office. Please see how to make the pastry here. This is a Rough Puff Pastry and not done in the traditional method, I will make the traditional method at some point, but this is for us lazy ones so let’s continue. If you are suuuuuuper lazy, you are more than welcome to buy a ready-made puff pastry from your local shops.

Top tip: work quickly.

When making this, I didn’t take too many pictures, when working with hot sugar I suggest you put the phone down and focus. I don’t want to get burned and neither do you. Also, make sure that you have prepared enough pears before making the tart by filling the pan and ensuring you have as little gaps as possible. I didn’t and wished I did.

The sugar can burn very quickly so keep a close eye on things before you add the butter. I don’t think a smoked Tarte Tartin is something you would like to try. Also, DO NOT MIX THE SUGAR WITH ANY UTENSILES, swirl the pan around to but do not put a spoon in until you have added the butter. Using a spoon in the sugar will cause it to crystalize and I don’t know how to fix that, so you know, just don’t.

Aite, so like an idiot, I made me pastry a bit too thick, roll this thing down to 3mm guys, put your back into it.

Ok, that’s the end of it, I must admit, this is really tasty and superior to a boring old pie. I personally feel like this is just as easy as an apple/pear pie with a better pay off so why not? Not only is it tasty but you get the added bonus of saying Tarte tartin all day which is obviously super fun to do.

 

Let me know if you tried this one.

Ok, go bake this thing boo thang.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Another fancy tart

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.