Lady Fingers for your Man Hands

Oh hey there honey face. How are you doing? I’m amazing too. Ok, so what are we making today? We are making LADY FINGERS. Whoop Whoop. Yea, those Italian things that you use to make a Tiramisu, yea, those things. I really didn’t know what to make and didn’t want to go out and buy additional ingredients, so I made a plan. This is the plan. So happy that it’s just a few ingredients and really light on time.

 

My first attempt was a flaming failure, but we will get into that later. For now, let us get to the baking, then we will get into thee thoughts of this humble amazing human, me.

Sparse ingredients

  • 4 eggs separated
  • 2/3 cups sugar
  • 7/8 cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons icing sugar

Light work

  • Preheat oven to 205 degrees C, line baking trays with parchment paper.
  • Sift flour, salt and baking powder together and set aside.
  • In a large bowl, beat egg whites until peaks just begin forming. Add two tablespoons of the sugar and continue beating until peaks stiffen. Set aside
  • In a separate bowl, beat egg yolks with the remaining sugar and vanilla extract until thick and eggs torn a pale yellow.
  • Add half of the egg whites into the egg yolk mix and sift the flour again, directly into the bowl. Fold together, do not complete folding.
  • Fold the remaining half of whites into the mix until just combined. Do not over fold.
  • Place spoonful’s into a piping bag with a large nozzle and pipe 10 cm strips, 2.5 cm apart
  • Bake for 8 minutes or until a light golden brown
  • Allow to cool and sprinkle with icing sugar

Grande thoughts

My first attempt at these were a flaming fucking mess. I just saw while I was mixing that it was going to be a shit show, but I still perceived and hoped it would be one of those situations where everything looks bad until it comes out perfect. It was not.

Aite, I like these because they are pretty easy, and I prefer the taste of home made Lady Fingers over the shop bought ones. Personally, I feel like the effort is worth it. They are delicate with a crunchy exterior and an airy center.

Will I be making these any time soon? Nope. Because I hate them? Nope. They are just delicate and the way my kitchen is set up, I can’t make these at their absolute best. Because the air beaten into the egg whites act as the main raising agent and the air begins to fall relatively quickly after being folded in. In short, everything needs to go into the oven at the same time. My oven is small and can only take one at a time, so the second batch looked sad, see for yourself.

Top tip, work quickly.

 

Also, while piping, the mixture should hold its shape or else you are going to have a weird pancake thing.

 

Once I am rich and have a fancy oven, trust I will be making these for High Tea hosted in my fancy rich people garden with my rich people swans in my rich people pond. For now, I am a lowly not rich Johannesburg single that can’t even syphon baking funds from those closest to me, so no more Lady Fingers.

 

Any who, get to baking babies

3 thoughts on “Lady Fingers for your Man Hands

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.