Loaded Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hello human readers, welcome to another amazing blog post. So, I have been wanting to make a disgustingly chocolaty cookie for a while now and man, do I have one for you. I had done some intense research and played around with different ideas of what may be some dope shit, I have found said dope shit. Guys, I am not gassing you when I say these are dope shit.

Ok, so I wanted to make these cookies moist, kind of like a brownie but with none of that cooling over night nonsense, oven to mouth ok but I also wanted to give them a twist. Hello twist. I was stuck on what I wanted to add between coffee and red wine, I was for a nice Pinotage, but I thought, “hey, I can run an Instagram poll on this” so I did. I won’t lie, I was just a little disappointed when the vote overwhelmingly swung towards coffee (30% wine 70% coffee), I was hoping it would be neck and neck, but maybe I just have a wine problem. Don’t come at me. Anyway, I made them with coffee, next time I am 100% trying a Merlot, Pinotage or Shiraz.

The Great Debate

Ok non-bitches, lets bake.

Needs

1 ½ (210g) cups 40% cake and 60% bread flour combined

¾ cups (75g) unsweetened dark cocoa powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking/bicarbonate of soda

½ cup (115g) butter, softened

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup packed sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoons vanilla extract

½ cup strong coffee

1 bag (250g) semi sweet chocolate chips

Process

  • Preheat oven at 190 degrees C
  • Mix together the remaining dry ingredients, excluding sugars, and set aside.
  • Whisk together butter and sugars for 5 minutes, it will not necessarily be as fluffy and smooth, this is fine.
  • To butter, mix in the egg, vanilla and cooled coffee. The mix will look separated, this is fine, it will all come together with the dry ingredients.
  • While mixing, gradually add and combine the dry ingredients into the mix.
  • Once fully combined, fold in the chocolate chips.
  • Spoon out small balls and slightly flatten on a lined or buttered baking sheet.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes, allow to cool slightly the baking sheet before transferring to cooling rack

I play too much on the Gram

Thoughts

So, yea, straight from the oven to my mouth in deed. I gave them time to rest and the moment I finished baking all of them I prepped a nice cup of chamomile tea and went in. Man were they yummy but also super sweet, but this is to be expected, I acted like a child, cookies need some time to rest so that the sugar isn’t over whelming, I usually give it a day. Ok, tried them again the next day and oh wow, the moist goodness that is these cookies. Yes lord.

The coffee isn’t super pronounced because really, coffee tends to amplify the chocolate taste, I think wine would give it some more dimension and a more complex flavor. So, lesson: trust your instincts Badi, you is smart.

The above statement is by no means a detraction from the cookie itself, just food for thought. Ok, so let’s chat about this cookie and let’s note some of my experiences and opinions on it:

  • This is one of the moistest cookies I have ever made and has given me a few ideas on recipes I want to try. This is nothing like our other chocolate chip cookies, at best they are cousins.
  • When making these, you will feel like you have fucked up at almost every point, just trust the process and follow what I say. It will be ok, just don’t freak out.
  • I noticed the flavor developing and balancing over the days. Days 3 and 4 were the sweet spot, day 5 they tasted amazing as the chocolate was perfect for me, but they had lost some of that moistness. They didn’t last longer than day 5 though, my sister and brother-in-law polished them off.

These cookies are an occasion and you would be a fool to disagree with me so don’t. I will fight you.

3 thoughts on “Loaded Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.