Coffee and Rum Cookies

UUUUUHMM, ok guys, I must be honest with you. I made these and forgot what I was making. I had hopes and dreams of making bomb tiramisu inspired cookies, well I made rum and coffee cookies…

Were the delicious? Fuck yeah. Were they what I had been dreaming of all week? Nope. Oh well, let’s get to these damn thing

 

In my pot

1 ½ (210g) cups all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking/bicarbonate of soda

½ cup (115g) butter, softened

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup packed sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoons vanilla extract

½ cup good quality instant coffee

½ cup dark rum (not sweet)

In my oven

  • Preheat oven at 190 degrees C
  • Mix together the dry ingredients, excluding sugars, and set aside.
  • Whisk together butter and sugars for 5 minutes, it will not necessarily be as fluffy and smooth, this is fine.
  • To butter, mix in the egg, vanilla
  • To the butter mix, combine a third of the dry ingredients, followed by half the rum, continue with this order until all are incorporated
  • Spoon out small balls and slightly flatten on a lined or buttered baking sheet.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes, allow to cool slightly the baking sheet before transferring to cooling rack

In my belly

So, this recipe is pretty similar to last week’s Double Chocolate Chip Cookies, just another reminder that there is room to play in baking, only if you have the patience.

The idea that I had had was to have soft and moist cookies with a mascarpone and chocolate filling sandwiched between two cookies. Well, yea, I made the cookies way to big. I should have made them the size of little walnuts but being the glutton that I am, I smelled the mix and wanted to stuff my face with regular ones. Wrong, this recipe is strong so two regular sized cookies with the mascarpone would have been way too much. I will come back to this idea and execute it completely one day, just not today.

Ok, fuck up dealt with. How was everything else? The rum I bought was not a joke. It was potent. I had asked the guy that works at my local liquor store, which rum would be best for baking and he honestly gave me demon rum. I swear I smelled the arm pits of hell but thank God I listened to him. Alcohol cooks out when baking or cooking and what you are left with is just the flavor. Sweet rum can tend on sickly sweet, and man do I hate overly sweet baked goods. There is a balance one must maintain.

In this one, I used instant coffee rather than freshly brewed coffee in order to really highlight the taste. I was a bit scared that the brewed coffee would be too faint and drift into the background rather than having both flavours coming through like your traditional tiramisus. Just make sure you put it through a sieve, I found random little bits after the fact that were not too pretty. That and you don’t want random chunks of coffee here and there.

I don’t know what the fuck these are

I liked it, but two odd people suggested I dial back on the rum just slightly. I am about the rum, but I fully understand why some people would want more. It has kick and I love the kick. If you are dialing back, us a quarter cup of rum and coffee respectively, otherwise one will overpower the other. Remember, we are looking for balance.

I personally munched down on these in no time at all. I aint playing no games.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.